- Who can use Low-THC and Medical Cannabis?
1. Patients who suffer from seizures, severe and persistent muscle spasms, pain, nausea, loss of appetite due to cancer or epilepsy under Charlotte’s Web Law.
2. Terminally ill patients under the “Right to Try Act.”
- How do I get a recommendation for medical cannabis or low-THC treatment?
Schedule an appointment with a physician that has completed the training required for ordering medical cannabis for patients. Please note: you must be a patient with a qualified physician for the immediate preceding 3 months in order to be considered for treatment.
Your doctor will enter your personal information and dosage recommendation into the Compassionate Use Registry, where it will be saved and stored for the duration of your treatment.
- How do I find an authorized doctor?
An authorized physician is one who has completed the training required for ordering medical cannabis for patients.
- How do I fill my recommended order?
Visit a Trulieve dispensary and speak with our knowledgeable staff about your dosage recommendation. Our specially-trained staff works hand-in-hand with YOUR physician to provide the right products and the correct dosage to ensure you get the compassionate care you need. We will fill your order while you wait and answer any other questions you may have. Remember: you must have identification with your full name and date of birth.
- What is the difference between Low-THC Cannabis and Medical Cannabis?
Low-THC cannabis has very low amounts of the psychoactive ingredient THC and does not usually produce the “high” commonly associated with cannabis. Patients with cancer or a condition that causes chronic seizures or muscle spasms may qualify to receive low-THC cannabis.
Medical Cannabis can contain sufficient levels of the psychoactive ingredient THC to produce the “high” commonly associated with cannabis. If a patient is suffering from a condition that has been determined to be terminal by two physicians, he or she may qualify for medical cannabis.
- Does Trulieve home deliver?
Yes, we will deliver your order to your door anywhere in Florida. Give us a call at 1-844-TRULIEV (878-5438) or visit our online shop to place your order.
Delivery fee is $25 for regular delivery and $40 for rush delivery.
- What do I bring when picking up my order?
You must have photo identification that shows full name and date of birth of the patient or guardian/caretaker of the patient.
- Do Florida patients have to obtain a medical cannabis ID card?
Yes. All patients and legal representatives must obatin an identification card.
Patients and patient legal representatives must fill out the appropriate application and submit it to the department of health along with the following.
- A copy of your Florida driver license, Florida identification card, or other proof of residency.
- A $75 check or money order (application fee) made out to Florida Department of Health.
- A passport-style, color photograph (2x2 inches in size) taken within the 90 days immediately preceding application.
If you are applying for a child under the age of 18, you must also include:
- A designated legal representative.
- A copy of the parent’s or designated legal representative’s proof of residency.
Application packets should be mailed to:
Florida Department of Health
ATTN: Office of Compassionate Use
4052 Bald Cypress Way
Tallahassee, FL 32399
You may also visit any of our locations for application assistance including taking your photo.
- When does Amendment 2 take effect?
According to the Florida Department of Health Office of Compassionate Use, it became effective on January 3, 2017.
Visit the Office of Compassionate Use to learn more.
- What medical conditions are covered under Amendment 2?
Conditions under Amendment 2 are:
- PTSD (Post Traumatic Stress Disorder)
- ALS (Amyotrophic Lateral Sclerosis)
- MS (Multiple Sclerosis)
Other debilitating medical conditions are those for which a physician believes that the medical use of marijuana would likely outweigh the potential health risks for a patient is also permitted under Amendment 2.
- How do I make an appointment to learn more about Trulieve and the process?
No appointment is necessary. If you have a patient ID, visit any Trulieve location during open hours Monday through Friday from 10:00am-7:00pm, Saturday 10:00am-5:00pm and Sunday 12:00pm-5:00pm, place your order online by clicking “shop” or call us at 844-TRULIEV (878.5438) 7 days a week. If you do not have a patient ID, call us at 844-TRULIEV (878.5438) 7 days a week or email at firstname.lastname@example.org and we will help you get started.
- Do you employ any medical professionals?
Yes. We have a medical director and a full-time clinical nurse educator.
Our Medical Director is Dr. Ken Brummel-Smith, a licensed Florida physician. Our Clinical Nurse Educator is a registered nurse.
- Are there any proven medical benefits of medical cannabis?
Yes. Visit DrTrulieve.com to browse clinical studies and research on the efficacy medical cannabis.
- Does Trulieve have any RSO (Rick Simpson Oil) products?
Yes. Currently we have 50mg capsules available that are filled with RSO.
- Can medical cannabis be smoked?
No. It is currently against Florida law to smoke any cannabis products, even if it is medically related.
You can however vaporize medical cannabis. Vaporizing is smokeless, as the vaporizer simply converts oil or ground flower into a natural vapor. Trulieve has two options for vaporizing: standard handheld vaporizer and a vape pen. View our product page to learn more.
- What strains do you offer?
We currently have strains in Indica, Sativa, Hybrid, and CBD. We currently offer Chem Dawg (Hybrid), 9lb Hammer (Indica), Sour Deisel (Sativa), and Vitajay (CBD).